Complete Rehabilitation of Contaminated Land

If the level of contaminants revealed by Phases 2 and 3 exceeds the standards in force, soil remediation work will have to be carried out. This Phase 4 purely concerns soil or water decontamination work. Remediation work is often required in cases where leaks or spills have increased the environmental liability of the site. Oil-burning heating equipment and chlorinated solvents (often used in the dry cleaning industry) are the most common contaminants. 


Historically, decontamination has been strongly associated with heavy excavation work as well as noise and visual pollution. Nowadays, innovative technologies allow decontamination work to be carried out in a non-invasive manner, taking into account the specificities of each site treated and with a very low carbon footprint. Enutech offers in situ treatments (i.e. no excavation is required) to conduct remediation work in all types of sectors.

In Situ Treatments: Process

From a technical point of view, in-situ decontamination can be accomplished by injecting a biogeochemical solution designed locally, in our laboratories, to specifically address the contaminant concentrations that characterize the site. The injection is performed through injection wells or by Direct Push, which allows the solution to degrade the contaminant. 


Other types of eco-responsible rehabilitation are possible, such as phytoremediation. It consists of decontaminating soil and purifying groundwater using plants. Plants are chosen according to their properties and their ability to accumulate contaminants. Phytoremediation suits shallow contamination sites. It is a technique that we consider and use when the decontamination context allows it.

Injection of the adapted biogeochemical formulation

Rehabilitation Work: Who Should Pay?

Under Bill 72 of the Environmental Quality Act (EQA), remediation is the responsibility of the legal entity that used the land when the contamination occurred. Any person who has had custody of contaminated land (as owner, tenant or otherwise) will be held responsible for the remediation of the land, unless he or she can demonstrate that he or she acted with due diligence or that the contamination was caused by a third party.


Some financial institutions that guarantee a loan make the granting of the loan conditional on the completion of the rehabilitation work.

Réhabilitation complète
des terrains contaminés

Si la teneur en contaminants révélée par les Phases 2 et 3 excède les normes en vigueur, des travaux de réhabilitation des sols devront être réalisés. Cette Phase 4 concerne à proprement dit les travaux de décontamination des sols ou de décontamination de l’eau. Les travaux de réhabilitation sont souvent requis dans des cas de fuites ou de déversements ayant alourdi le passif environnemental du site. L’huile à chauffage (mazout) ainsi que les solvants chlorés (souvent utilisés dans l’industrie du nettoyage à sec) sont les contaminants les plus communs. 


Historiquement, la décontamination est fortement associée à de lourds travaux d’excavation ainsi qu’à une pollution sonore et visuelle. Désormais, des technologies innovantes permettent de mener des travaux de décontamination de façon non invasive, en tenant compte des spécificités de chaque site traité et en ayant une très faible empreinte carbone. Enutech propose des traitements in situ (c’est-à-dire qui ne nécessitent aucune excavation) pour procéder à des travaux de réhabilitation dans tous types de secteurs.

Traitements in situ: fonctionnement

D’un point de vue technique, la décontamination in situ est rendue possible grâce à l’injection d’une solution biogéochimique conçue localement, dans nos laboratoires, pour répondre spécifiquement aux concentrations en contaminants caractéristiques du site. L’injection est effectuée par le biais de puits d’injection ou par Direct Push, ce qui permet à la solution de dégrader le contaminant. 


D’autres types de réhabilitations écoresponsables sont possibles. C’est le cas notamment de la phytoremédiation. Il s’agit de décontaminer les sols et d’épurer les eaux souterraines grâce à des végétaux. Les plantes sont choisies selon leurs propriétés et leurs capacités à accumuler des contaminants. La phytoremédiation est adaptée pour répondre à des sites de contamination peu profonds. C'est une technique que nous considérons et utilisons lorsque le contexte de décontamination le permet.

Injection de la formulation biochimique adaptée

Travaux de réhabilitation: qui doit payer?

Selon le projet de loi 72 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (LQE), la réhabilitation est la responsabilité de la personne morale ayant utilisé le terrain lorsque la contamination s’est produite. Toute personne qui a eu la garde d’un terrain contaminé (à titre de propriétaire, de locataire ou autre) sera tenue responsable de la décontamination du terrain, sauf si elle arrive à démontrer qu’elle a agi avec diligence raisonnable ou que la contamination est redevable à un tiers.


Certaines institutions financières garantes d’un prêt rendent l’octroi de ce même prêt conditionnel à la réalisation de travaux de réhabilitation complets.